ISIMIP Community Awards are given to modelers who put a lot of effort into advancing the mutual goals of ISIMIP.

The 2023 Awards have been given for great efforts in creating Direct Human Forcing (DHF) input data, and the winners are:

  • Land-use
  • Edna J. Molina Bacca
  • Miodrag Stevanović
  • Louise Parsons Chini
  • Jonathan Doelman
  • Elke Stehfest
  • Michael Wogerer
  • Tamás Krisztin


  • Tingting Wang
  • Fubao Sun

Growing Seasons

  • Sara Minoli
  • Jonas Jägermeyr
  • Christoph Müller

Inter-basin water transfer / Sea water desalinization

  • Naota Hanasaki
  • Zhipin Ai
  • Saritha Padiyedath Gopalanam

Dam locations

  • David Gernaat
  • Hester Biemans

Irrigation Techniques Shares

  • Yi Yao
ISIMIP award 2023

ISIMIP awards 2022 were given to sector coordinators having left and to modelers who provided the most complete ISIMIP3 data submission by then:

Sector coordinators having left

  • Malgorzata Golub (Lakes)
  • Anne Gädeke (Permafrost)
  • Kirsten Thonicke (Permafrost)
  • Almut Arneth (Agriculture)
  • Detlev v. Vuuren (Energy)

Maillot jaune for the most complete ISIMIP3 data submission

  • Akihito Ito, National Institute for Environmental Studies (VISIT model)
  • Hannes Müller-Schmied & Tim Trautmann, University of Frankfurt (WaterGAP2-2e model)

ISIMIP awards 2021 were given to sector coordinators having left and to modelers who performed particularly well according to the following criteria:

Sector Coordinators having left

  • Gitta Lasslop (Fire)
  • Derek Tittensor (Fisheries)

“Heaviest” Model in ISIMIP2b (in terms of data volume - 6 TB - and number of publication dates - 26)

  • Sonia Seneviratne & Wim Thiery (CLM4.5)

First data uploaded for ISIMIP3a

  • Tobias Stacke (HydroPY)

First data uploaded for ISIMIP3b

  • Jerome Guiet, Daniele Bianchi, Eric Galbraith (BOATS)

Excellent Guest Editors

  • Valentina Krysanova and Fred Hattermann (regional lakes sector, most special issues organized

Maillot vert for meeting the IPCC AR6 submission deadline with an ISIMIP3-based study:

  • Jonas Jägermeyr and Sam Rabin

Maillot à pois rouges for developing 1-km high-resolution climate forcing data)

  • Dirk Karger

... to be continued ...